Skip to main content

Days 5-8

Day 5 (Thursday):
Woo hoo! Half way thereJ I wish I could say this has been easy as pie, but then there I am again, thinking about pie. I will need to go on a no fruit diet after this cleanse because I’m so tired of fruit. I keep telling myself it’s what’s good for my body.

Day 6 (Friday):
I didn’t write much yesterday because I had a lot going on (more to come on that in a future post), but I did almost crack last night. I was crabby and hungry and I came home to David making a pizza.  The last thing I wanted was fish and veggies, but I sucked it up and made some tilapia- not the greatest thing in the world, so I think I’ll stick with cod- it was delicious the last two nights I made it. Today and the rest of the weekend are going to be tough. Weekends are tough anyways, what with all the opportunities to drink and eat food, bad food, late at night.

Why is it that I can’t go a day without getting a headache? This is getting old. I’m crabby, so you’ll have to excuse the attitude.  I’m drinking plenty of water. I’m following all the instructions. UGH!! Is it Wednesday yet?  It’s very hard to focus at work when I feel this way.  What happened to the drive, the desire I had just a few short days ago that got me here, got me to day 6? I’m feeling really weak inside, and every ounce of me wants to pull open my bottom cabinet drawer that stashes the mini candy bars my workplace hands out on people’s anniversaries or birthdays and just devour 10 of those precious mini morsels.  A co worker brought in ice cream cups in three flavors for everyone, and I went to the fridge and stared at them for a minute, contemplating taking a vanilla one because vanilla is not that bad for you, right? I snapped out of it and grabbed my dry strawberries and am eating those insteadL I said it before, I’ll say it again, I’m weak. It’s a miracle I’ve even come this far.  I’ll be astonished if I make it through tomorrow. I have to report of my food diary though, so it’s going to be pretty embarrassing if I have to post to all of you (or maybe there’s only one or two who actually read this) that I failed and devoured a whole chocolate cake or stole all of my daughter’s candy at the parade I’m taking her to tomorrow. We will just have to wait and see.  Maybe I should focus on the money I spent to do this diet. I have enjoyed stepping on the scale and seeing the number decline each time.  I also was able to squeeze (heavy on the term squeeze) into a pair of jeans today that I haven’t worn since I was pregnant.  I need to keep these positive thoughts in my head when I’m feeling my weakest.  For any of you reading this, please send good thoughts my way. I need all the help I can get.

Day 7 & 8 (Saturday and Sunday):
Dare I say it? I cheated. God, that hurts to say because I feel like such a letdown, but it feels good knowing I’m being honest, too.  I can honestly say I stayed faithful through this whole cleanse until the weekend. We went out for Irish Fest in downtown Waterloo Saturday evening and I ate a salad for supper and I didn’t drink any alcohol. It was a long night, and I didn’t take my vitamins that night because I was so tired I just went to bed. The mornings (on weekends) are tough because I’m just not in my regular routine. I wish dieting could be a 5 day a week thing, not 7 days.  Sunday I was able to put on a pair of shorts that I couldn't even button a week ago! We went to a lady's home in Denver to decide on wedding cake/cupcakes for David and my reception in October.  I tried some wedding cake because the cake lady gave us a whole mini cake to take home and I kept cutting slivers of it off and by the time I was done, I’d say I ate close to what would be considered an entire piece of cake.  Remember, I said I'm weak.  It was soo delicious, but at the same time, the guilt of knowing I ruined the cleanse just about made me sick.  I went to Hyvee that night and bought every flavor of rice cake they had as well as some natural peanut butter. Melissa said I can have those things, so I’m not asking any questions, and instead am going to enjoy the added items to my list of foods.  Sorry, I don’t have much to write on the weekend. I didn’t take the time to input this info this weekend, and am doing it Monday morning instead, so it’s a little short.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Is it 7:30 yet?!

Life with an 11 mont h old is exhausting.   Yes, it can be exciting, joyful, and yes, I have my proud moments too, but today it’s, well, exhausting. The people around me most often I'm sure would say, I tend to hop on the frustration train the moment Syrie starts to act out or they might say I just get down right angry, and they’re right.   I never claimed to be World’s Greatest Mom, but today I tried another approach. I stayed calm, didn’t lose my cool, and yet still she seems to be impossible to satisfy.   Maybe satisfy isn’t the right word because I’m sure that leaves some of you thinking, I spoil her and give her whatever she wants the second she tears up, but that’s not true either.   I had the television off, phone put away, and all of my attention on her.   I was trying to keep her mind off of whatever it was that made her want to whine and fuss, but nothing worked.   I tried ignoring it, but I’m learning that she doesn’t care what ap...

Her First Overnighter

As many of you have already heard, Syrie had her first overnight stay in the hospital at just under 7 months old.  While it's not what I was expecting Wednesday morning when I was advised to bring her in by her Doctor after finding out she had a high temp, I suppose I should just be grateful it turned out to be nothing.  I've always been one to look at things in the way that, if I'm going to go through all this hassle, there better be a good reason for it, dang it!  At least that's how I always looked at this sort of thing when it happened to me.  Now that I have someone else to worry about, I think about things a little differently, but the thought is always in the back of my mind-some things/attitudes are hard to change. Before Wednesday I really had no idea what a high temperature for a child was.  Since this fiasco, I've learned that babies can stay home with a much higher temp then my little miss endured.  All I knew was that my doctor's nurse told m...

Blood Diamond? Try Gassy Diamond.

With all the weddings in the coming months I decided I better start tanning so that I don't look ghostly in my dresses.  Having a baby makes tanning a little more difficult, so I figured I would squeeze it in on my lunch break, and went for the first time in a long time yesterday.  I typically don't wear jewelry when I go in a tanning bed, but because of the time crunch I decided to leave my wedding ring on.  While getting toasty in the bed I looked down at my ring and under the UV lights to my surprise, the far left diamond on my ring was bright blue--not just the top, but the sides, the entire thing!  I panicked and my mind immediately raced back to February when I got my bands soldered to my engagement ring, and I went home to show David. His response to my ring was, "Your ring looks smaller.  You know, sometimes they switch out diamonds on people."  At the time I thought about it for a second, and then assured myself that that would never happen to me....